Beauty//Confidence//Thanksgiving

On March 4-5 our team competed in Sedona, Arizona to play at the Red Rocks Invitational. Sedona is one of my favorite places to play golf. I was so thankful to have the opportunity to play at Oak Creek Country Club.

Here’s what I took away from this past week:

Find the beauty

This was the easiest thing to do on our trip. We arrived in Sedona late Thursday night, so we didn’t see much of the beauty until Friday. I’m naturally an early riser, so I decided to do some morning exploring. Right outside our room was a short hike called “Scenic Vista”. I didn’t know that when I first decided to go on the hike I would find such a gorgeous place, but I took a chance to do something new on my own. When I got to the top I stood there for a moment thinking about how blessed I am to have this beauty right outside my door. I walked back down and later brought my teammates with me to check out this hidden gem.

When I get into my career in digital marketing, I know that some days, the results will be unknown, the opportunities unclear, and the choices impossible. But in the morning (or in days/weeks/months), the full picture will be revealed. I’ll just have to stay curious and walk outside my door to see the beauty.IMG_1655

It’s okay to be aggressive

The course we played this weekend was super getable, but I found myself wanting to play conservative. In the back of my mind I had a fear of doing something wrong. I wasn’t scoring the way I thought I should be and I was starting to get disappointed. My coach was noticing my defensive mentality and told me “it’s okay to be aggressive”. This one comment stuck with me the rest of the tournament. I was able to start playing without fear of failure, playing with confidence, and playing to play well. You may think “Well duh, Baile, you shouldn’t play afraid.” You’re right. Sometimes we get stuck in the status-quo. We think “I’m doing average and that’s okay”. The status-quo doesn’t work in golf, and it sure doesn’t work in marketing.

What if we played offensively in everything we did? We might be really strong at some things, but we would stand vulnerable in others. Golf has taught me balance. You can play golf worried about what could happen, but you should play confidently enough to allow good things to happen. We can’t market a product or brand afraid of what our competition might copy. We have to market our product or brand knowing we have the BEST campaign strategy, having a plan in mind if our competitor does copy our ideas.FullSizeRender

Be thankful for mentors

I am currently on the job search. I have been applying for a summer internship at various marketing firms in Denver and Kansas City. I am praying that I can land a sweet gig, work super hard all summer, and go full time by August. On Wednesday, before golf practice, I was able to get in touch with a woman at an innovative marketing firm. She talked with me on the phone for a half hour and genuinely cared about what I could get out of the conversation. Her job sounds AMAZING. I was so inspired by her, and I can’t wait to have the opportunity to mentor someone one day, too. Curious how to be a good mentor?  

I was most thankful for her

  1. Taking the time out of her day to talk to me
  2. Being happy to answer every question I asked
  3. Giving me usable advice

The last week has brought me a lot of insight. Every week I try to grow from my experiences. What have you done this week to grow? Do you have a routine you use to think back on your week? What is the best way you’ve found to evaluate your success? Comment below. I can’t wait to see what you have to say!

Leave a Reply

